The Bell Jar (FINISHED!)

2 Oct

So, guess what today is? It’s Monday, September 1, 2012.

And, guess what I finished two seconds ago? The Bell Jar!!

So, I guess, I can wrap this one up 5 days before my deadline. I’m awesome!

Anyway, this book was fantastic! It was a little slow in the beginning but, having finished it, I understand that Sylvia Plath needed to give somewhat of a back story. The pre-breakdown. Around Chapter 10, it started picking up speed (which is where I started this morning) and became very very good.

I don’t really want to go into detail because if someone who is reading this blog and is interested in the book, then I will not give any spoilers…

I think I had the impression that this book was going to be overwhelmingly depressing and emotional. It was emotional and morbid at times, but definitely not to the extent I had been led to believe. Or, maybe it was just because I felt so connected to Esther. I had sympathy for what she was going through because I think everyone has some hardship like hers in their lives. Mine happens to be now. But, beside the point. I could really relate to her testimony and experiences and it made me really think about my own life. I say that is a definite sign of a great book.

I won’t ruin the ending…but I will say it was the total opposite of what I expected. I think the book could have been more dramatic if it had been concluded in an alternative manner but I understand this ending. It brings the book almost full circle and doesn’t really tie everything up, but provides and outlet for something new. It’s like Sylvia Plath wrote it like this to get her audience really thinking.

I know I am…

Ok, so before I sign off, I didn’t really pay attention to quotes because I was so invested in the actual plot of the book. But I did mark one:

“At first I wondered why the room felt so safe. Then I realized it was because there were no windows.” (127)

I don’t know why, but this quote left me speech and brainless for a while. I literally put down the book to contemplate it (in the context it meant a lot more than it seems by itself). But, that’s that…

Anyway…next book: A Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess

Talk to you later!!!

Leave a comment